Harvest and Fried Tomatos

Well, Danni-Girl may actually be out of the thick of her extinction-burst.  Although, now that I have said that, I have probably doomed myself to a life of misery we will just have to wait and see.  So now to tell you about what else has been going on this week.

Our little city-homestead made it to it’s first harvest this week.  We still have more to harvest, however we had many baskets to pick this week.  I have been picking tomatoes for weeks, along with sweet peppers of every variety.  But this week I harvested the corn, carrots, broccoli, and kale.  I have been blanching, freezing, and dehydrating all week.  It has been crazy around here.  I am so proud of my first harvest, even if the rabbits did get to some of the carrots before I did.  As for the tomatoes they keep picking, I honestly think there is plenty for us to share.  I can’t keep up with those prolific buggers.  The tomatoes, not the bunnies 🙂

Which brings me to fried tomatoes. Yummy.  How have I never tasted a fried tomato before today?  I mean come on mom?  Why did you deprive my childhood of such an experience?  I don’t know what they taste like down south as I didn’t have cornmeal, and I added flaxseed, and used gluten-free flour, and almond milk.  But I feel as if I have been cheated my whole life never lived until today.  Needles to say, I am hooked!

 

Leave a Reply

