Eggplant Fajitas with a Twist

Who doesn’t love a good fajita?  I know I used to.  Since I have gone vegetarian, the idea of meatless fajitas just doesn’t call out to me in the night the way chicken or steak fajitas used to.  Yet, I might have accidentally found my new “fix.”

image

See, I have never had an eggplant, and last week at the farmers market I bought one.  My daughters’ therapist said she does not like them because once cooked they become mushy quite fast.  Good to know. I HATE mushy.  So looking at this beautiful purple thing last night.  I didn’t know quite what to do with it.  Do I bake it?  Do I grill it? Do I turn it into a pancake?  That all sounded simple enough, but I had the rare energy.  Something that doesn’t happen often with my chronic illness.  So I was determined to come up with something better than that.

Looking at the eggplant I realized that splitting it in half I could dig it out and use the shell itself as a boat to hold whatever I came up with.  That would give it beautiful presentation.  So I opened the fridge, and grabbed a few things, as well as went out to the garden and grabbed a few more.  The following is what I came up with.  My husband was quite jealous that he is in Korea and not home to try it.  Let me know what you guys think.

Eggplant Fajitas with a Twist

  • 1 eggplant
  • oil for sauting
  • 1 onion
  • 3 clove of garlic
  • 2 tomatoes
  • 6 peppers (any color)
  • salt and pepper
  • cheese
  • 3 tbsp liquid amino acid (or soy sauce)
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar

 

PREHEAT OVEN TO 350 DEGREES F

1.  Cut the leaves off the eggplant and slice the eggplant in half to make two long boats

2.  Scoop out the inside of the eggplant leaving about half to one inch of shell left to hold the remaining ingredients

3.  Sprinkle inside of shell lightly with salt and layer lightly with cheese, set aside

4.  Slice onions and chop garlic.  Sautè over medium heat.  I used grapeseed oil.  I prefer my vegetables crunchy, so I only sautèd for a couple of minutes before adding the liquid amino acids and brown sugar.  give that a good stir.

5. Slice the peppers.  I actually used two green bell peppers, 2 purple bell peppers, and 2 banana peppers.  But the choices are endless.  You could also use chili peppers or anything I would imagine.  Flavor it how you would want. Add to the pan. I also had a green tomato that I diced and added at this point, as I am fond of green peppers (as i discovered earlier this week)

6. Dice or cube the eggplant, add to pan, and simmer for about 5minutes if you want firmer eggplant (remember I said I hate mushy foods) or 10 minutes if you like softer veggies

7.  Transfer all food to your eggplant boats

image

8.  Add cheese to top of veggies.  I only had a fiesta blend in my fridge, which wasn’t bad, but I think it would have been better with a mozzarella. or maybe even a feta

9.  Bake 15-20 minutes or until cheese is melted and boat is to desired softness

10.  After it comes out of the oven, top with sesame seed, and tomatoes

image

Now isn’t that beautiful?

Some variations might be to add some tofu and leave out the eggplant, or to add some chicken (for my husband’s dish when he gets home, as he isn’t a vegetarian). The point is, its a delicious recipe, and highly customizable.  For those of you who like warm pineapple, this would be a good recipe to add a bit of pineapple.

Leave a Reply

