Butternut Bake

_DSC3440

Everyday I make my meals.  And each time i think, “Wow, that was amazing.  I should have taken pictures so I can share this.”  So every once in a while I have the foresight to grab the camera.  Now this helps me as much as you, as my recipes tend to be a dump it in, and we’ll see how big the explosion amazing it tastes.  So when I have the foresight to document my experiments recipes, I can remember the recipe and also share it with all you.

….Or in theory, that is.  Problem is my life gets so crazy most of the time, that a few days goes by, and I forget the temperature I baked it at, or the ratios of ingredients.  Really, I do try.  But getting to the computer is just something I utterly fail at.

A friend recently contacted me wondering if I had updated my blog, as she was keeping her eye out for my recipes.

Margie, my dear, this post is for you.  I apologize for how long it has taken me to get this out to you 🙂

Butternut Bake

  •      1 Butternut Squash
  •      1/2 c coconut oil, or even margarine
  •      1 tsp garlic minced (or more to taste)
  •      Homemade Honey Teriyaki Sauce (Local raw honey, soy sauce, Garlic Powder, Ginger Powder, all to taste)
  •      1/4 cup sliced onions
  •      Salt (to taste)
  •      Pepper to taste
  •      1/4 to 1/2 c grated Parmesan Cheese

1) Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

2) Rub 13x 9 inch glass baking dish with olive oil

3) In response to kids asking if dinner is ready, tell them you are making it now

4) Take your butternut squash, peel it, half it lengthwise, and de-seed.

5) Slice the squash about 1/2 inch thick, and arrange in baking dish

Slightly overlap each slice if need be.
Slightly overlap each slice if need be.

6) Tell the kids, when they ask again if dinner is ready, that it will be ready, whenever it’s ready.

7) Heat coconut oil over medium heat with minced garlic, 2-3 minutes

8) Pour garlic melt over butternut squash

Mmmmm, Garlic!
Mmmmm, Garlic!

9) Sprinkle salt and pepper to taste

10) Threaten the kids, telling them if they bother you one more time, you will eat the whole dinner by yourself, and there will not be any dinner for them

11) Add onions to the top of Butternut squash

12) Pour teriyaki sauce over the Butternut squash

13) Sprinkle Parmesan cheese over top of the whole bake

I used WAY more parmesan than I probably should have.
I used WAY more Parmesan than I probably should have.

Bake for 45 minutes at 375 in oven, or until squash is desired tenderness

_DSC3440

ENJOY!

Perfect
Perfect

Stay warm all.  This weather could be the death of us all. Oy Vey!

Leave a Reply

