Lost and Alone

In a crowded room
Of my closest kin
And dearest friends

While the light blazes bright
And the music drones on
I am in The dark
And I am all alone

In the cafe
Or at the mall
The walls close in
And the light grow dim
My throat closes tight
The fear rises up
I am in the the dark
And I am all alone

My heart cries out
For the one I love
Across the miles
And years apart
Will we ever be together
Or has fate been bitter?
I am in the dark
And I am all alone

I walk to the bimah
And crumple to my knees
In anguish the tears stream
As I cry out at Aron HaKodesh
ADONAI! Adonai?
Yet I feel all alone
I am kneeling in the dark

~Renee Keltner 2017

Leave a Reply

